Posted by: Maxine Fuller | February 16, 2009

Foreclosure

Like millions of people, I have been hearing the word “foreclosure” many times a day for months.  It is impossible to turn on the television, radio, or the Internet and not see or hear the word.  Because I felt bombarded with the term, I started thinking about what the word foreclosure or foreclose means.  I checked the dictionary and here are the two definitions that I found for the word.  Foreclose means (1) to deprive of mortgaged property, (2) to preclude or bar.  The first definition, I am very familiar with and the thought of it happening to my home has caused me many sleepless nights.  However, it is the second definition that resonated and stayed with me.  So, I looked a little further in the dictionary and found the definition for the word “preclude.”  Preclude means to make impossible or prevent. 

 

As I read these definitions over and over, it dawned on me that the term foreclose had come into our consciousness for reasons other than the housing crisis.  I think the message it is bringing us is more about foreclosing on our collective greed than anything else.  For a very long time we have been greedy about so many things – land, oil, other natural resources, consumer goods, money, and the list could go on forever.

 

I believe that this moment in time is designed so that we will pay attention to how greedy we all were being, not only with money, houses, and other tangible things, but with our spiritual selves, our real selves.  I think that this foreclosure is about preventing us from being greedy about material things as well as matters of the spirit.  So what do I mean by “matters of the spirit?”  Well, spirit to me is just another word for love, and I think we got so wrapped up in acquiring things that many of us forgot about the only thing that really matters, love.  Love has been missing from our intentions and from our thoughts because we were busy buying stuff that we thought could replace love.

 

I don’t know about you, but as I struggle to survive the economic downturn, I am noticing how much stuff I have to take care of every day.  And you know that I really don’t need very much.  Besides, the stuff does not feel like love to me.  It does not comfort me or generate the warmth that love does.  In fact, having a lot of stuff made me fearful of love because I was more concerned about someone taking things away from me than about sharing them with others.  I realize now that working really hard to acquire lots of stuff has left me lonely, closed off, and withdrawn.

 

So, I am opening my heart and mind and welcoming foreclosure on this acquisition phase of my life.  I have started giving away the stuff that I have accumulated that I do not use, and more importantly, I have decided to focus on ways to give love and to open myself to the love of others.  I have already cleaned out my closets and I will continue to do so as I discover stuff I am not using.  I am also working on cleaning out my heart and giving away as much love as I possible can on a daily basis.  Sometimes it’s just smiling at someone I pass on the street, thinking kind thoughts about someone I have judged in the past, calling a relative I have not spoken with in a long time, or going for a long walk with a friend in the middle of the day.  Giving and receiving love is my top priority today.  What’s your top priority today?   

 

Maxine Fuller is the creator of Cookin’ Naked: The True Self Recipe, and owner of McKinley Group Inc., a management consulting and training firm in Sandy Springs, Georgia.  She can be reached at maxmcgroup@aol.com or 404-875-1805.  

 


Responses

  1. Wow, what a great insight, Maxine! Your post reinforces what I’ve been finding in my conversations as well, that one of the great antidotes to this economy is being a giver. You might want to take a look at my blog post about the top 5 blues-busting mindsets of the current economy, which you can access here:
    http://www.suzipomerantz.com/executiveexcellence/top-5-blues-busting-mindsets-to-combat-the-current-economy/

  2. Maxine, I like the correlation you have made here. Forecloser does not need to be a bad thing. It can be an opportunity to let go of all limitations to realize we are not our things.
    Since the beginning of this new year, I spent time revising the purpose/mission for my life. After playing around with words that describe why I exist, I settled on “My purpose is to be love in action with everyone and everything.” Maxine, I agree Love is the essense of who we are. We do not need to search for love, chase love, or create love because we are love in expression all the time. When I have a tendency to forget this, love becomes something I think I need to pursue outside of myself.
    The beauty that we work to surround ourselves with in our home, clothes, cars, comforts is our best attempt at loving ourselves at the time. As long as we feel joy and happiness with or without these comforts we are free to be Love in action.

  3. Like you, I’ve been downsizing and getting rid of “stuff” that I don’t need. It’s been a 3 year process, preciptated not by the economic crisis as much as the loss of people who were a part of my extended family. As I have helped to donate their things, I realized how much of a burden it was to have so much stuff that I didn’t need, or use. It is such a relief to let it go. I can’t wait to be free of it! With the losses that I’ve experienced during the past couple of years, I’ve come to learn that it isn’t the stuff that feeds my soul, it’s my daughter’s love, that of my family and friends, and being one with Spirit. Thank you for opening the dialogue.

  4. Maxine, this is brilliant! Literally brilliant, because you have taken a concept that sends shivers and made it shine in the sun. I think we are all being called by this “crisis.” I hesitate to call it crisis or anything because the very act of naming it something dire can put me on automatic of going down with the ship in my attitudes or fears or actions.
    I am choosing other attitudes than fear, but I am in need of these reminders of yours, Suzi, and Audrey to right my internal ship. I love this reworking of foreclosure that you have done. I take it as fabulous guidance for those of us blessed with a home, and I am very aware of those who now don’t or who are on the edge.

    A 112 year old man in Montana was interviewed yesterday. He said one of the ways people managed in the Depression was that “families moved in with each other!” Your action of “cleaning out your heart and giving away as much love as possible” is the equivalent on the spiritual and community level – I think we’ll need to be moving in to each other’s hearts.

  5. My initial thought was: Now Girlfriend! Don’t you be giving away too much because (1) you worked too hard to get what you got; and (2) before you give away too much, let me get down there and inventory your closet.
    But this deep, and scary. We ofen say that material things are not important, but society, our culture, our upbringing keep telling us that we should go for the biggest, the prettiest, the most expensive; the elegant; the “best” community; . . . So we have been programmed to get ten cars when we only need one; to get a five bedroom house when we only need a two bedroom home. So how do we change the script? Maybe since we will not willingly do it ourselves, this economic down turn will force us to think about need vs. want. With retirement upon me, I must rethink my priorities and luxaries; my wants vs. needs.

  6. Once again you are on point. I like the way you dealt with that word you claimed it, broke it down, beat it up, and took control.
    It is amazing how you have such insight since most of the time a person actually goes into foreclosure to get to the level that you are about it.
    You mentioned so many valid points in the physical sense but were able to let that go and move into the spiritual.
    You inspire me as always, I’m not afraid of Foreclosure it is no longer a bad word since he has no control over my life, health, or happiness.
    I most humbly await your next entry.


Leave a comment

Categories